Late into the year we discover a very fine new band indeed. Young States hail from Norwich and are led by lead singer and bassist, Libby Irons who, has a singing voice not a million miles from Stevie Nicks in places.

The five song EP kicks off with (29) a widescreen rock song followed by an even more expansive ‘Memory’, which was a single released in September. For such a new and young band, this is an exceptional rock song.

Hailing from Norwich, Young States are a four-piece band specialising in far-reaching and energetic rock. Formed at the end of 2014, the band met at a music school in Norwich. Guitarist and vocalist Libby  was on a sound engineering course, the others, Amy Jeffrey, Guitar, Molly Draba-Mann, drums and bassist, Georgia Leeder were on music performance courses.

'Past Truths | Present Lies’ was produced by Drew Lawson and mastered by Grant Berry who the band say “gave the EP it's Midas touch”.

Georgia says: “All the tracks on the EP have different meanings to some extent but the common thread between them all is that they're all about my own (not-entirely-happy) feelings I've experienced in the past. The idea for the EP name comes from saying that I experience these exact feelings at the moment wouldn't be true.”

The EP is indeed a massive stepping-stone to bigger things for this band, a superb rock EP that can easily be played on repeat on any length of road trip.